Meow Takes the Title

Photographs Published Here

Three races in challenging conditions gave Chris Charlesworth and Rob Gullan the title of Overall IRC Double Handed National Champions 2016. Meow, a Contessa 26, was the winner of Class 3 with three bullets.   Each of their three races was won by a healthy margin. 

IRC Double Handed National Champions 2016

Overall Winners 2016

Chris Charlesworth 
& Rob Gullan

Pipped to the post for the Overall Title, Andrew Roberts and Bill Edgerley also sailed their J105 'Jin Tonic’ with considerable skill achieving three first places too, and in the process succesfully defended their 2015 Class 2 title.

Class 1 saw three separate winners with Malice (HOD 35) winning the windward leeward race, Hot Cookie (Sunfast 3600) the ‘Round the Cans’ and Synerjy (J11s) the 3-hour passage race.  Neil Martin and Philip Barnes with Hot Cookie showed the best overall performance and successfully defended their 2015 Class 1 title by just two points.

Past Commodore of Royal Southampton YC, Gordon Agnew presented the trophies after dinner at the RORC clubhouse in Cowes.

2017 is likely to see a further improved and challenging format.  Watch this space….

Overall IRC Double Handed National Champions 2016
Meow (Contessa 26)  Chris Charlesworth and Rob Gullan

Class 1
1st   9pts    Hot Cookie (Sunfast 3600)   Neil Martin & Philip Barnes
2nd  11pts  Fastrak X (Sunfast 3600)   Nick Cherry & Ed Fishwick
3rd   12pts  Malice (HOD 35)   Huw Phillips & Mike Moxley

Class 2
1st   3pts    Jin Tonic (J105)   Andrew Roberts & Bill Edgerley
2nd  7pts    Jangada (JPK 1010)   Richard Palmer & Jeremy Waitt
3rd   9pts    Just Plain Krazy (JPK 1010)   Stephen Hills & Ian Knight

Class 3
1st   3pts    Meow (Contessa 26)   Chris Charlesworth & Rob Gullan
2nd  6pts    Hubble Bubble (H Boat)   Dave Wright & Luke Bradley
3rd   15pts  Chaser (Sigma 33)   Dave Cheney & Tom Cheney